top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle Lee

Jell-O Chiffon Cake


Jell-O Chiffon Cake has been a hit recently that I myself got to bake to believe it & try it myself.

Yes, adding in Jell-O into chiffon cake. Jell-O that you use to make jelly, with all sort of flavours such as strawberry, orange, blackcurrant, cherry, etc.

The texture is the same like usual chiffon cake that you made, but I feel this is kinda fail-proof recipe after adding in Jell-O. And the jelly flavours your chiffon cake. Like eating chiffon cake with your favourite jelly taste.

Ingredients : (18cm chiffon pan)

Recipe adapted from Michelle Marie Mover, changed the ingredients portion according to my 18cm pan size.

(A)

3 Egg Yolks

1/3 tsp Salt

48g Milk

36g Corn Oil

30g Sugar

(B)

60g Jell-O (any flavour) - I'm using Blackcurrant flavour Nona Brand

(C)

72g Cake Flour (I'm using Self Raising Flour)

1/3 tsp Baking Powder

(D)

3 Egg Whites

30g Sugar

1/3 tsp Cream of TarTar

Step by Step :

1. Mix (A) till combine.

2. Add in (B) and mix well again, then add in (C) till well combined.

3. Whisk (D) till bubbles start to form before adding in Cream of Tar Tar.

4. Slowly add in sugar in 3 portions. Whisk till meringue reaches stiff peak.

5. Fold 1/3 of the meringue into the batter.

6. Continue folding in slowly another 1/3 of the meringue.

7. Transfer all the folded batter into the remaining meringue on the mixing bowl.

8. Slowly fold in until well combined.

9. Transfer batter into chiffon pan (ungreased). (Tap as your transfer)

10. After that, tap the pan few times to release any bubbles trapped within.

11. Bake at 150C for 45 minutes.

12. Bake till desired brown on top and use a cake tester to test & make sure it comes out clean.

13. Immediately remove from oven, invert to cool completely before removing from pan.

Using Blackcurrant flavour Nona Brand, I am expecting the cake to turn out purple in color, but to my surprise, it became colorless. So I added few drops of red colouring to it. Next try, I am gonna try cherry flavour & wish my chiffon cake will turn out red in color !!

Happy Baking..

276 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
    bottom of page